Tea Total Japanese Lime Green Tea

teatotal, japanese, green tea, lime, tea, drink tea, teapot, banoffee, cronut,

Today is a day of FLAVOUR. Wow. I’m sitting at a local Columbus cafe enjoying a pot of Tea Total Japanese Lime Green Tea, and I cannot implore you more: get down to Columbus, if you’re in NZ, and try this tea! It has to be the tastiest, most mouth-watering, god-damned green tea I have ever had the pleasure of guzzling down my gullet.

My eyes scanned down the laminate menu of a great variety of teas, and the word “lime” jumped off the page quicker than tea pours from a teapot. I love all things lime: lime milkshakes, lime icecream, lime jelly, lime on it’s own, a wedge of lime in my rum, lime on the frosted rim of a margarita, even the colour is brilliant! and I cannot believe I’ve been twenty-four years on this rock without tasting lime in a tea! the travesty. I quickly skimmed over the remaining menu, knowing full well I would be passing it all up. So I ordered the Japanese Lime Green Tea as I read the blurb

“Green sencha tea flavoured with lime, lemon & daisies, a mild but cleansing tea to be drunk without milk”

and if that don’t get your taste buds in a twist then you, sir (or madame), are reading the wrong blog. A strong lime flavour washes over your body like the waves washing up on the shore of Japan, with faint lemons squeezed delicately over your still, calm body, daises floating all around you, occasionally bopping into you, nudging your arm toward the teapot to pour an other cup of tea divinity. The green tea base can be tasted throughout, from start mixed in with the lime, to after-taste lingering with lemon and daisies.

Alas, my teapot drained, I am living in the past twenty minutes. Reliving every moment, every sip, every slurp. Wishing I had savoured it just ten minutes more. Wishing I hadn’t bought a banoffee cronut for $6.00, decimating any justification to purchase an other pot of tea. Wishing.


Japanese Lime Green Tea, try it. Try it at your next possible opportunity.

Any other lime infusions out there? please share them with me

 

3 thoughts on “Tea Total Japanese Lime Green Tea

  1. teawithpolly says:

    I’m a lime-lover too, and that tea sounds AMAZING!! Wish I could get it here, but I’ve never seen anything like that! You might be interested in “Baroness Grey” from Divine Tea Library. It is in theory, an Earl Grey, but is flavoured with lime leaves, giving it a very rich lime-y flavour. You can read my blog post about it here.http://wp.me/p4er6a-b6 I believe they ship worldwide. Maybe they’d send you a sample…?

    • Firstly, thanks for your comment! you’re number one. I’ve just read your article on this Baroness Grey, and I say I’m enticed. I gotta try that, it sounds brilliant. What part of the world are you from? you could mail me back on tea@tyrannosaurus.co.nz if you dont want to post it up on public comments. Perhaps I could get hold of some and send you a bag. I’ve been meaning to go to the Tea Total cafe for a shopping spree anyway hahahahahah.

      • teawithpolly says:

        Wow! Glad to be the first commenter! Your writing is great! I’m in Toronto, Canada, so I imagine the shipping cost would be phenomenal! I wouldn’t ask you to do that! Thanks for the offer, though. I’ll have to imagine it from your description! I’m gonna keep my eye out for something like that!

Leave a comment